Tsechu Monastery

Was established as a Bon monastery in the year 1146, then was changed into a Jonang monastery by Ratnakirti (1451-1528). There have been nine incarnations in the line of the throne-holders of Tshechu.

Swe Nunnery

Swe Nunnery was originally established as a mountain retreat above the hills behind Swe Monastery. It was officially designated as a nunnery under the patronage and governance of Swe Monastery 16 years ago. Currently, it is the only active Jonang nunnery in Amdo.

Akyong Yarthang Monastery

The 1st Jonang monastery in the Golok cultural region

  •  Akyong Yarthang Monastery ALT

Choje Monastery

Choje Monastery was the 1st Jonang establishment in the Amdo region of Far Eastern Tibet.

Dzamthang Tsangwa Monastery

The major monastic seat (gdan sa) of the Jonang tradition today in Amdo

Great Stupa Mountain Hermitage

Situated about an hour north of Takten Damcho Ling (rtag brtan dam chos gling) in the valley of Jomonang, this site is most often referred to as, "Jonang Richo Chenmo" or the "Great Mountain Hermitage of the Jonang," and was the 1st site of the Jonangpa.

  •  Great Stupa Mountain Hermitage 1
  •  Great Stupa Mountain Hermitage 2